did you know that im going

to be at SXSW this year?

yep. i was lucky enough to be invited on the Black Bloggers Panel.

im stoked.

and i even got an inquiry to see if i wanted to be on another panel. i was all, if im in austin i will be talking about kickass music or blogging whether theres a mic infront of me or not, so yes!

sxsw started as a music festival in 1987 but recently they have expanded to include an “interactive” convention-of-sorts.

here are some of the people who will take part this year. i think i will get a few baseballs and have some of these web icons sign them:

Amalia Anderson (National Voice)

James Wagner Au (secondlife.com)

Anthony Batt (buzznet)

Lane Becker (Adaptive Path)

Carrie Bickner (roguelibrarian.com)

Sean Bonner (metroblogging.com)

Douglas Bowman (stopdesign.com)

danah boyd (danah.org)

Ben Brown (sonewmedia.com)

Glenn Otis Brown (Creative Commons)

Alaina Browne (afullbelly.com)

Ren Bucholz (EFF)

Andy Budd (andybudd.com)

Burnie Burns (redvsblue.com)

Stewart Butterfield (Ludicorp)

DL Byron (texturadesign.com)

Marc Canter (Broadband Mechanics)

Dan Cederholm (simplebits.com)

Tantek Çelik (tantek.org)

Matt Chapman (homestarrunner.com)

Mike Chapman (homestarrunner.com)

Farai Chideya (KALW Radio)

Wendy Chisholm (w3.org)

Joe Clark (joeclark.org)

Curt Cloninger (lab404.com)

Edward Cossette (bambinoscurse.com)

Dick Costolo (Burning Door)

Jim Coudal (coudal.com)

James Craig (cookiecrook.com)

Joshua Darden (scanjam.com)

Anil Dash (Six Apart)

Dave Dix (fortigo.com)

Jake Dobkin (gothamist.com)

Trevor Dodd (Digett.com)

Jennifer Eno (Warner Bros Records)

Caterina Fake (Ludicorp)

Derek Featherstone (boxofchocolates.ca)

Nick Finck (Digital Web Magazine)

Danny Franzreb (taobot.com)

Eris Free (erisfree.com)

Jason Fried (37signals.com)

Dan Gillmor (author)

Malcolm Gladwell (author)

Jason Goldman (Blogger)

Kelly Goto (gotomedia.com)

Adam Greenfield (v-2.org)

Dick Hardt (Sxip Networks)

Robin Harper (secondlife.com)

Alex Hart (ATPmail Pro)

Matthew Haughey (metafilter.org)

Eric Hellweg (CNN Money)

Brad Henderson (producingfuture.com)

Andrei Herasimchuk (designbyfire.com)

Didier Hilhorst (nundroo.com)

Meg Hodder (hodder.org)

Molly Holzschlag (molly.com)

David Hornik (August Capital)

Ernie Hsiung (littleyellowdifferent.com)

Andrew Huff (gapersblock.com)

Rebecca Smith Hurd (Wired)

Aldon Hynes (SmartCampaigns)

Joi Ito (neoteny.com)

Andrew Jaquith (atstake.com)

Lynnne D. Johnson (lynnedjohnson.com)

Michael Jordan (Houghton Mifflin Company)

Monique Judge (monique.ws)

Jeremy Keith (adactio.com)

George Kelly (negrophile.com)

Cecily Walker Kidd (Formica.ca)

Brad King (MIT Technology Review)

Andrew Kirkpatrick (WGBH)

Jon Lebkowsky (weblogsky.com)

Jason Levitt (author)

Mike Linksvayer (Creative Commons)

Peter Ludlow (University of Michigan)

Jonas Luster (jluster.org)

Rich MacKinnon (Less Networks)

Erin Malone (Yahoo!)

Paul Martino (tribe.net)

Nancy Massey (masseynet.com)

Peter Merholz (Adaptive Path)

Cameron Moll (cameronmoll.com)

Eric Meyer (meyerweb.com)

Jerry Michalski (Sociate)

Jed Miller (ACLU)

Kathy Mitchell (Consumers Union)

Matt Mullenweg (wordpress.org)

Craig Newmark (craigslist.com)

Dunstan Orchard (1976design.com)

Neeru Paharia (Creative Commons)

Joyce Park (author)

Me (tonypierce.com)

Daniel H. Pink (author)

Francis Preve (fap7.com)

Mellie Price (frontgatetickets)

Eric Raymond (author)

Bob Regan (Macromedia)

Ted Rheingold (Dogster & Catster)

Dan Robinson (E-volve Foundation)

Keith Robinson (Phinney/Bischoff Design House)

Erin Rogers (Union of Concerned Scientists)

Mike Rosenfelt (MessageOne)

Sharron Rush (Knowbility)

Alex Russell (developer)

Shabbir Safdar (Mindshare Interactive Campaigns)

Dinah Sanders (metagrrrl.com)

Jason Santa Maria (jasonsantamaria.com)

Christopher Schmitt (christopher.org)

Robert Scoble (Microsoft)

Dave Shea (csszengarden.com)

Glenda Sims (University of Texas)

Evan Smith (Texas Monthly)

Jay Smith (Livid Instruments)

Kevin Smokler (wheretheressmoke.net)

Molly Steenson (girlwonder.com)

Alex Steffen (WorldChanging)

Bruce Sterling (author)

Gerfried Stocker (Ars Electronica)

Greg Storey (airbagindustries.com)

Glenn Thomas (producingfuture.com)

Jason Toney (negroplease.com)

Gina Trapani (scribbling.net)

Jeff Veen (Adaptive Path)

Esme Vos (muniwireless.com)

Willem Vos (weekendhotel.nl)

Jane Wells (janeforshort.net)

Adam Werbach (Common Assets)

Chris Wetherell (massless.org)

Christina Wodtke (eleganthack.com)

Ka-Ping Yee (zesty.ca)

Kaliya Young (ID Commons)

Jeffrey Zeldman (zeldman.com)

Tim Ziegler (Mighty Man Media Design)

the lovely wonkette will deliver the keynote. yow! now thats how you get people to go to a keynote.

here are a tiny sample of some of the 1,000+ bands that will rock there:

Against Me! (Gainesville FL)

Ambulance Ltd (New York NY)

American Music Club (San Francisco CA)

Chingo Bling (Houston TX)

The Dears (Montreal QC)

Death From Above 1979 (Toronto ON)

Dogs Die in Hot Cars (Glasgow UK)

The Donnas (Palo Alto CA)

The Go! Team (Brighton UK)

Grand Buffet (Pittsburgh PA)

Guitar Wolf (Tokyo JAPAN)

Tre Hardson (Los Angeles CA)

Hella (Sacramento CA)

Robyn Hitchcock (London UK)

Hot Hot Heat (Victoria BC)

Husky Rescue (Helsinki FINLAND)

Billy Idol (Los Angeles CA)

Jack Ingram (Dallas TX)

Kaiser Chiefs (Leeds UK)

The Kills (London UK)

The Longcut (Manchester UK)

Aimee Mann (Los Angeles CA)

Mean Reds (Tuscon AZ)

Ronnie Montrose (Sacramento CA)

Nada Surf (Brooklyn NY)

The Raveonettes (Copenhagen DENMARK)

Rolling Blackouts (Torrance CA)

Sleater-Kinney (Portland OR)

Son Volt (St Louis MO)

The Soundtrack Of Our Lives (Gothenberg SWEDEN)

22-20’s (Lincoln UK)

Visionaries (Los Angeles CA)

Saul Williams (Los Angeles CA)

Led Zeppelin’s Robert Plant will be the keynote speaker.

i will be the jackhole yelling out “STAIRWAY!”

monique + sxsw interactive + bigger list of bands who will perform +

Leave a Reply